Page 1 of 3
how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail in panel instead of a silly gear?
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 4:59 pm
by harrykar
In up-down order in pic the last app(qbittorent) shows a gear instead the applications picture what can I do to show the app's picture?
TIA
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:04 pm
by CharlesV
What version of qBitTorrent are you running?
4.6.3 is in the Test repos and it has a fill icon. As I recall, one of the earlier versions was the gear.
Edit: This could also be your icon set.
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:09 pm
by harrykar
CharlesV wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:04 pm
What version of qBitTorrent are you running?
4.6.3 is in the Test repos and it has a fill icon. As I recall, one of the earlier versions was the gear.
Edit: This could also be your icon set.
Actually I use v4.6.3 (Libtorrent 2.0.9.0 version). It's not from our repos but an .appimage downloaded from their site and put in my home's /bin with a softlink in Desktop
I'm wondered also how can I put it in Whisker's app list (maybe in a category apart)
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:46 pm
by xaol
this is the beginning of the contents of the repo's version of a qbittorrent .desktop file:
Code: Select all
cat /usr/share/applications/org.qbittorrent.qBittorrent.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Categories=Network;FileTransfer;P2P;Qt;
Exec=qbittorrent %U
GenericName=BitTorrent client
Comment=Download and share files over BitTorrent
Icon=qbittorrent
MimeType=application/x-bittorrent;x-scheme-handler/magnet;
Name=qBittorrent
Terminal=false
Type=Application
StartupNotify=false
StartupWMClass=qbittorrent
Keywords=bittorrent;torrent;magnet;download;p2p;
SingleMainWindow=true
you would probably need to change the Exec line and i believe the icon might have been one installed with the repo version of qbittorent
Code: Select all
apt-file list qbittorrent | grep -i icon
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/qbittorrent.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/status/qbittorrent-tray.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/qbittorrent.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/status/qbittorrent-tray.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/192x192/apps/qbittorrent.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/192x192/status/qbittorrent-tray.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/qbittorrent.png
qbittorrent: /usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/status/qbittorrent-tray.png
<snip>
so i'm not sure if you would have a different one you would use. i've not used appimages much so i don't know if creating a .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications for it would work like you want to add to the whisker menu and allow you to set an icon.
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 10:48 pm
by CharlesV
harrykar wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:09 pm
CharlesV wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 6:04 pm
What version of qBitTorrent are you running?
4.6.3 is in the Test repos and it has a fill icon. As I recall, one of the earlier versions was the gear.
Edit: This could also be your icon set.
Actually I use v4.6.3 (Libtorrent 2.0.9.0 version). It's not from our repos but an .appimage downloaded from their site and put in my home's /bin with a link in Desktop
I'm wondered also how can I put it in Whisker's app list (maybe in a category apart)
Ya just Edit your whisker menu, add a launcher, put in the complete appimage path and image name, give it all a name and then choose the icon and category that you want. You can find a BUNCH of icons in the /usr/share/icons folders.. or hunt down one you like or search for a qbittorrent one.
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 5:02 pm
by harrykar
Guys I found qbittorent images only in Papirus folder. Also found that
gtk-update-icon-cache creates an
icon-theme.cache inside the /usr/share/icons/Papirus directory (look at pic) but had no luck the gear(now is a bit smaller than before I guess) is always visible in panel(up section there where are visible the open programs --sorry don't remember the name of that panel's region--).
The only difference maybe (I'm not sure IIRC) is that now when I close qbittorent(x button) the gear disappears. Before
gtk-update-icon-cache gear was always in panel (even if i pushed x button, i.e. close? but maybe I pushed - button i.e. minimize I'm not sure)
Code: Select all
$ sudo gtk-update-icon-cache --force /usr/share/icons/Papirus
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
PS(look the other pic): In my opening thread first post forgot to mention that the qbittorent image is present but in the in the down part of the panel--sorry don't remember the name of that panel's region--. (Per default) When i close(x button) the application actually qbittorent not close but 'hides' in that image
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 6:16 pm
by davidy
Appimagelauncher from github should work. Grab the deb file installer and then update synaptic. It has settings which I pointed to where I keep all my images. After updating once you open an image the launcher will popup asking if you want integration, or just run once. I use qbittorrent enhanced and it integrated perfectly and also renames the actual appimage itself. Run once will default to the behavior of the image by itself. Works with Stellarium too but not with avidemux. IOW it doesn't work with every appimage out there but it does work, giving you a proper tray icon for those that do.
github.com/TheAssassin/AppImageLauncher/releases
I'm on MX 21.3 and the deb is from 2020 so there's that.
For the most part I keep a folder of icons for when the OS itself has none. This does nothing for the tray but appimagel... may help. I gave up on the misc missing icons for the most part. Got better things to do. I hate that you can assign an icon to the command but xfce ignores it.
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:01 pm
by harrykar
@davidy Rethinking better(see the 'entire panel' pic in my previous post) what I can say so far is :
- (repo's) open applications are put on the Taskswitcher/Windows Buttons panel's(upper) area and hold their icons. Moreover no one of them is put in notification area
- Both qb(appimage) and ActivityWatcher are non from our repos, put their icons in notification panel's bottom area with qb that put also a gear in Taskswitcher/Windows Buttons panel's upper area.
--AW it's in the form of a folder with binaries in my ~/ and managed to run as a daemon on system startup so AW is normal not show a gear icon in Taskswitcher/Windows Buttons panel's(upper) area as do e.g. qb that runs on user's demand.--
When qb is minimized(push '-' button) gear holds in Taskswitcher/Windows Buttons area, when qb is closed(push 'x' button) gear goes off from Taskswitcher/Windows Buttons area but qb(per default) is still in action his icon lie in notification area. If you want to really close it rclick on his icon -> push exit.
- right click on qb's gear (i.e. context menu) consist only in 'remove' item instead context menus of other applications contain much more items(pin to doc, edit launcher, minimize,maximize,move ... etc)
PS: Thank you for the hint about AppImageLauncher seems interesting but maybe discontinued?
Anyway I don't want introduce more indirection and stuff into the system so I adopt the more direct old good manual way :)
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 1:40 am
by Stevo
If you're running MX 21 or 23, why not just use the 4.6.3 in our MX test repo that doesn't have this issue? And in doing so, help test it so we can move it to main?
Re: how can make visible an application's pic thumbnail?
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:19 am
by harrykar
Stevo wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 1:40 am
If you're running MX 21 or 23, why not just use the 4.6.3 in our MX test repo that doesn't have this issue? And in doing so, help test it so we can move it to main?
@Stevo I'm on 23.2 . Good your point, dunno when the latest qb entered in our test repos maybe after I start use qb but Thanks I do it (after solving that issue). A little help on how can I do it?
PS: Moreover I have another one package out of our repos (weechat IRC client) in my system. Used their .debs -> and goes very well so far. I had request an update from our team to include it in repo