I3-gaps with MX-Linux

Here is where you can post tips and tricks to share with other users of MX. Do not ask for help in this Forum.
Message
Author
User avatar
stroudmw
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:13 am

I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#1 Post by stroudmw »

200513193_10158754787357851_5268046200992087406_n.jpg
I've just installed i3-gaps on MX-19 and thought I'd add this "how-to" for reference.

Install the i3 meta-package:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install i3
Now do the following:

Code: Select all

 git clone https://github.com/Airblader/i3.git i3-gaps

Code: Select all

sudo apt install meson dh-autoreconf libxcb-keysyms1-dev libpango1.0-dev libxcb-util0-dev xcb libxcb1-dev libxcb-icccm4-dev libyajl-dev libev-dev libxcb-xkb-dev libxcb-cursor-dev libxkbcommon-dev libxcb-xinerama0-dev libxkbcommon-x11-dev libstartup-notification0-dev libxcb-randr0-dev libxcb-xrm0 libxcb-xrm-dev libxcb-shape0 libxcb-shape0-dev

Code: Select all

cd i3-gaps/

Code: Select all

 mkdir -p build && cd build

Code: Select all

meson --prefix /usr/local

Code: Select all

ninja

Code: Select all

sudo ninja install
...and that's it!

I've used conky for the panel. Here's my ~/.conkyrc file:

Code: Select all

conky.config = {
    background = false,
    cpu_avg_samples = 2,
    no_buffers = true,
    out_to_console = true,
    out_to_x = false,
    own_window = false,
    update_interval = 1,
    short_units = true,
    total_run_times = 0
};

conky.text = [[

[
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "CPU: ${cpu cpu0}% ", "color":"\#cf6a4c"},
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "RAM: $mem","color":"\#cda869"},
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "LAN: ${addr eth0}","color":"\#89b859"},                                                        
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "Wifi: ${wireless_essid  wlan0}","color":"\#00aaaa"},
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
#    {"full_text": "${exec hostname }", "color":"\#9b703f"},
#    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "BATT: ${battery}", "color":"\#9b703f"},
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "UP: ${uptime_short} ", "color":"\#838184"},
    {"full_text": " | ", "color":"\#555555"},
    {"full_text": "${time %A %Y-%m-%d}", "color":"\#cccccc"},
    {"full_text": "${time %H:%M}", "color":"\#cccccc"}
],

]];
to call the .conkyrc, you'll need this in your ~/.config/i3/config file, as this replaces the i3status bar:

Code: Select all

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
#        status_command i3status
        status_command ~/.config/i3/conky-i3bar.sh
        position top
}
and here's the ~/.config/i3/conky-i3bar.sh file:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

# Send the header so that i3bar knows we want to use JSON:
echo '{"version":1}'

# Begin the endless array.
echo '['

# We send an empty first array of blocks to make the loop simpler:
echo '[],'

# Now send blocks with information forever:
exec conky -c ~/.conkyrc

...and that's it!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Administrator
Posts: 23052
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#2 Post by Jerry3904 »

Thanks a lot--this will be very useful to the Community.
Production: 5.10, MX-23 Xfce, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 16 GB, SSD 120 GB, Data 1TB
Personal: Lenovo X1 Carbon with MX-23 Fluxbox
Other: Raspberry Pi 5 with MX-23 Xfce Raspberry Pi Respin

User avatar
deanr72
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#3 Post by deanr72 »

Thanks, I'll be giving this a go any day soon!

User avatar
Jerry
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2021 4:42 am

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#4 Post by Jerry »

Great job. It's work on Mx 21 Rc1 and Debian 11 also.

User avatar
manyroads
Posts: 2657
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#5 Post by manyroads »

I use i3wm on MX21... here's a bunch of stuff I have written on i3wm (no gaps) and dwm (which I also use on MX daily). Perhaps you'll find something useful there.
https://eirenicon.org/?s=i3wm
https://eirenicon.org/?s=dwm
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - ManyRoads Genealogy -or- eirenicon llc. (geeky stuff)
i3wm, bspwm, hlwm, dwm, spectrwm ~ Linux #449130
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." -- H. L. Mencken

User avatar
stroudmw
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:13 am

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#6 Post by stroudmw »

Jerry wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 10:09 am Great job. It's work on Mx 21 Rc1 and Debian 11 also.
Thanks Jerry! That's good news as I am about to do a clean install of MX-21.

User avatar
stroudmw
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:13 am

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#7 Post by stroudmw »

The colours on the i3-bar no longer work. I assume it has to do with conky, but I have no idea how to fix it.

User avatar
deanr72
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#8 Post by deanr72 »

Hi.

I've recently tried this but get stuck at the ninja and sudo ninja install commands. Neither commands work regardless of the order. sudo apt install ninja doesn't work either - I just get a 'command not found' return. Am I missing something?

Regards,

D.

*EDIT: Scratch that, it works on mx-21 but not mx-19 apparently. Thanks again for the post!!

User avatar
deanr72
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:50 pm

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#9 Post by deanr72 »

Me again. New question, new post:

Is there a polkit or something I need to install/add/activate so that I have access to mx-tools, synaptic etc. from within the i3 gaps wm? How do I do that? All the programs are in rofi and dmenu but most of them won't run.

User avatar
manyroads
Posts: 2657
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:33 pm

Re: I3-gaps with MX-Linux

#10 Post by manyroads »

deanr72 wrote: Fri Dec 24, 2021 8:52 am Me again. New question, new post:

Is there a polkit or something I need to install/add/activate so that I have access to mx-tools, synaptic etc. from within the i3 gaps wm? How do I do that? All the programs are in rofi and dmenu but most of them won't run.
Here's a bunch of help on using i3wm (I don't use gaps but that will make no difference). Perhaps you'll find what you want, need, can use... https://eirenicon.org/?s=i3wm
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau - ManyRoads Genealogy -or- eirenicon llc. (geeky stuff)
i3wm, bspwm, hlwm, dwm, spectrwm ~ Linux #449130
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong." -- H. L. Mencken

Post Reply

Return to “Tips & Tricks by users”