<solved>scanner does not work  [Solved]

Message
Author
User avatar
JayM
Posts: 6796
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:47 am

Re: scanner does not work

#21 Post by JayM »

What is your printer model?
Please read the Forum Rules, How To Ask For Help, How to Break Your System and Don't Break Debian. Always include your full Quick System Info (QSI) with each and every new help request.

gor9

Re: scanner does not work

#22 Post by gor9 »

I found a post here
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1818629

to get around the gpg error do this.....you can not use sudo ....needs full root

Code: Select all

sudo su
echo '162.213.33.8 pgp.mit.edu' >> /etc/hosts
hp-setup -i
should now work.

(2) if it does not run the below command with as a local user and also with sudo at beginning
hp-setup -i needs root powers

# below as local user is key import success compared to older post

Code: Select all

gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
gpg: /home/gor/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg:               imported: 1

davidwillis
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm

Re: scanner does not work

#23 Post by davidwillis »

JayM wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 1:17 am What is your printer model?
It is a HP LaserJet Pro MFP m225dn
gor9 wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 2:12 am I found a post here
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1818629

to get around the gpg error do this.....you can not use sudo ....needs full root

Code: Select all

sudo su
echo '162.213.33.8 pgp.mit.edu' >> /etc/hosts
hp-setup -i
should now work.

(2) if it does not run the below command with as a local user and also with sudo at beginning
hp-setup -i needs root powers

# below as local user is key import success compared to older post

Code: Select all

gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
gpg: /home/gor/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg:               imported: 1
After running hp-setup-i, it seemed to work fine, setting up the printer, but it didn't install the plugin, and still did not work with the scanner.

I then tried (2), and now I get a different error when running hp-setup

Code: Select all

$ gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
gpg: directory '/home/david/.gnupg' created
gpg: keybox '/home/david/.gnupg/pubring.kbx' created
gpg: /home/david/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg:               imported: 1
david@mx:~
$ hp-setup

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.21.4)
Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0

Copyright (c) 2001-18 HP Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

Searching... (bus=net, timeout=5, ttl=4, search=(None) desc=0, method=slp)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 1343, in NextButton_clicked
    self.showAddPrinterPage()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 710, in showAddPrinterPage
    self.findPrinterPPD()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 804, in findPrinterPPD
    self.print_ppd = cups.getPPDFile2(self.mq, self.model, self.ppds)         
  File "/usr/share/hplip/prnt/cups.py", line 539, in getPPDFile2
    family_class=getFamilyClassName(model)
  File "/usr/share/hplip/prnt/cups.py", line 181, in getFamilyClassName
    family_type= dict[m]['family-class']
KeyError: 'family-class'
Aborted

gor9

Re: scanner does not work

#24 Post by gor9 »

EDIT
my bad. Even tho you did not disable python script extra line to be sure.

1)

Code: Select all

sudo su
gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
/usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py
# stay as root
hp-setup -i
2) as local user

Code: Select all

sudo hp-plugin
allegedly as we have imported gpg key as local and root user, it should work in theory. but I am getting tired and so to bed
Last edited by gor9 on Sat Sep 17, 2022 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

davidwillis
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm

Re: scanner does not work

#25 Post by davidwillis »

gor9 wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 10:09 am my bad....we need to re-enable the python script first me thinks

Code: Select all

sudo su
/usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py
# stay as root
hp-setup -i

Code: Select all

# /usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py
unknown option '/usr/share/hplip/plugin.py'
/usr/bin/aa-enabled: [options]
  options:
  -q | --quiet        Don't print out any messages
  -h | --help         Print help

gor9

Re: scanner does not work

#26 Post by gor9 »

sorry I have editted above post good luck

edit ignore the re-enable command pls

davidwillis
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm

Re: scanner does not work

#27 Post by davidwillis »

Still no luck.... But I just thought of something. my wifi/bluetooth did not work, so I installed kernel 5.18. Do you think that could have anything to do with this problem?

https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=71613

davidwillis
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm

Re: scanner does not work  [Solved]

#28 Post by davidwillis »

So I got it working.
I just went to https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... ng/plugins
Downloeded the plugin hplip-3.21.4-plugin.run
as root # hp-setup
Choose select path to the plugin (advanced)
put the path to where I downloaded it

And it installed and is now working!

gor9

Re: <solved>scanner does not work

#29 Post by gor9 »

davidwillis

great solution!

can you go to post 28 and and click tick .....that marks which post was the solution.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware /Configuration”