<solved>scanner does not work [Solved]
Re: scanner does not work
What is your printer model?
Please read the Forum Rules, How To Ask For Help, How to Break Your System and Don't Break Debian. Always include your full Quick System Info (QSI) with each and every new help request.
Re: scanner does not work
I found a post here
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1818629
to get around the gpg error do this.....you can not use sudo ....needs full root
should now work.
(2) if it does not run the below command with as a local user and also with sudo at beginning
hp-setup -i needs root powers
# below as local user is key import success compared to older post
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1818629
to get around the gpg error do this.....you can not use sudo ....needs full root
Code: Select all
sudo su
echo '162.213.33.8 pgp.mit.edu' >> /etc/hosts
hp-setup -i
(2) if it does not run the below command with as a local user and also with sudo at beginning
hp-setup -i needs root powers
# below as local user is key import success compared to older post
Code: Select all
gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
gpg: /home/gor/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg: imported: 1
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm
Re: scanner does not work
It is a HP LaserJet Pro MFP m225dn
After running hp-setup-i, it seemed to work fine, setting up the printer, but it didn't install the plugin, and still did not work with the scanner.gor9 wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 2:12 am I found a post here
https://bugs.launchpad.net/hplip/+bug/1818629
to get around the gpg error do this.....you can not use sudo ....needs full root
should now work.Code: Select all
sudo su echo '162.213.33.8 pgp.mit.edu' >> /etc/hosts hp-setup -i
(2) if it does not run the below command with as a local user and also with sudo at beginning
hp-setup -i needs root powers
# below as local user is key import success compared to older postCode: Select all
gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9 gpg: /home/gor/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported gpg: Total number processed: 1 gpg: imported: 1
I then tried (2), and now I get a different error when running hp-setup
Code: Select all
$ gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
gpg: directory '/home/david/.gnupg' created
gpg: keybox '/home/david/.gnupg/pubring.kbx' created
gpg: /home/david/.gnupg/trustdb.gpg: trustdb created
gpg: key 73D770CDA59047B9: public key "HPLIP (HP Linux Imaging and Printing) <hplip@hp.com>" imported
gpg: Total number processed: 1
gpg: imported: 1
david@mx:~
$ hp-setup
HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 3.21.4)
Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 9.0
Copyright (c) 2001-18 HP Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.
Searching... (bus=net, timeout=5, ttl=4, search=(None) desc=0, method=slp)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 1343, in NextButton_clicked
self.showAddPrinterPage()
File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 710, in showAddPrinterPage
self.findPrinterPPD()
File "/usr/share/hplip/ui5/setupdialog.py", line 804, in findPrinterPPD
self.print_ppd = cups.getPPDFile2(self.mq, self.model, self.ppds)
File "/usr/share/hplip/prnt/cups.py", line 539, in getPPDFile2
family_class=getFamilyClassName(model)
File "/usr/share/hplip/prnt/cups.py", line 181, in getFamilyClassName
family_type= dict[m]['family-class']
KeyError: 'family-class'
Aborted
Re: scanner does not work
EDIT
my bad. Even tho you did not disable python script extra line to be sure.
1)
2) as local user
allegedly as we have imported gpg key as local and root user, it should work in theory. but I am getting tired and so to bed
my bad. Even tho you did not disable python script extra line to be sure.
1)
Code: Select all
sudo su
gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0xA59047B9
/usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py
# stay as root
hp-setup -i
Code: Select all
sudo hp-plugin
Last edited by gor9 on Sat Sep 17, 2022 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm
Re: scanner does not work
gor9 wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 10:09 am my bad....we need to re-enable the python script first me thinks
Code: Select all
sudo su /usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py # stay as root hp-setup -i
Code: Select all
# /usr/bin/aa-enabled /usr/share/hplip/plugin.py
unknown option '/usr/share/hplip/plugin.py'
/usr/bin/aa-enabled: [options]
options:
-q | --quiet Don't print out any messages
-h | --help Print help
Re: scanner does not work
sorry I have editted above post good luck
edit ignore the re-enable command pls
edit ignore the re-enable command pls
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm
Re: scanner does not work
Still no luck.... But I just thought of something. my wifi/bluetooth did not work, so I installed kernel 5.18. Do you think that could have anything to do with this problem?
https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=71613
https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=71613
-
- Posts: 52
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:34 pm
Re: scanner does not work [Solved]
So I got it working.
I just went to https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... ng/plugins
Downloeded the plugin hplip-3.21.4-plugin.run
as root # hp-setup
Choose select path to the plugin (advanced)
put the path to where I downloaded it
And it installed and is now working!
I just went to https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imag ... ng/plugins
Downloeded the plugin hplip-3.21.4-plugin.run
as root # hp-setup
Choose select path to the plugin (advanced)
put the path to where I downloaded it
And it installed and is now working!
Re: <solved>scanner does not work
davidwillis
great solution!
can you go to post 28 and and click tick .....that marks which post was the solution.
great solution!
can you go to post 28 and and click tick .....that marks which post was the solution.