What happens if you log in, wait a few seconds for everything to set in, and then press Shift+'Your mod key'+r (default keybindings for restarting i3)?
EDIT: Didn't see @dolphin_oracle 's post.
[SOLVED] i3 start up issue
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 8:34 am
Re: i3 start up issue
I've tried starting volumeicon first and last, also used 'exec-always' which restarts programmes when using Mod+Ctrl+r to restart i3 and still not playing ball.
Re: i3 start up issue
If sound is working properly in your XFCE sessions, I would take a closer look at your autostart configurations again, looking for anything sound related and then trying to reproduce that within your i3 config. It's 'just' a window manager in the end.
Maybe copy/paste your i3 config (format as code) here if you don't mind, since more eyes can see more.
Maybe copy/paste your i3 config (format as code) here if you don't mind, since more eyes can see more.
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 8:34 am
Re: i3 start up issue
Thanks for the help, code for my 13 config below.
Having looked at Xfce autostart file 'pulse-start' it executes 'start-pulseaudio-x11'. I have tried replace 'pulseaudio' with 'start-pulseaudio-x11' in the config below and also adding as an extra line after 'pulseaudio' and left the sleep in the 'volumeicon' line as it replicates 'pulse-start'. Still same issue, sound not available until I log back in.
I'd be interested to know where to look to compare Xfce start up as opposed to Xfce, are there any log files I can compare tomorrow as last nightshift tonight so more time available :)
Thanks again,
Tony
Having looked at Xfce autostart file 'pulse-start' it executes 'start-pulseaudio-x11'. I have tried replace 'pulseaudio' with 'start-pulseaudio-x11' in the config below and also adding as an extra line after 'pulseaudio' and left the sleep in the 'volumeicon' line as it replicates 'pulse-start'. Still same issue, sound not available until I log back in.
I'd be interested to know where to look to compare Xfce start up as opposed to Xfce, are there any log files I can compare tomorrow as last nightshift tonight so more time available :)
Thanks again,
Tony
Code: Select all
#
# This file has been auto-generated by i3-config-wizard(1).
# It will not be overwritten, so edit it as you like.
# Should you change your keyboard layout some time, delete
# this file and re-run i3-config-wizard(1).
#
# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see https://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!
set $mod Mod4
# Font for window titles. Will also be used by the bar unless a different font
# is used in the bar {} block below.
font pango:monospace 8
# This font is widely installed, provides lots of unicode glyphs, right-to-left
# text rendering and scalability on retina/hidpi displays (thanks to pango).
#font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono 8
# Before i3 v4.8, we used to recommend this one as the default:
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# The font above is very space-efficient, that is, it looks good, sharp and
# clear in small sizes. However, its unicode glyph coverage is limited, the old
# X core fonts rendering does not support right-to-left and this being a bitmap
# font, it doesn’t scale on retina/hidpi displays.
# Configure border style <normal|1pixel|pixel xx|none|pixel>
new_window pixel 1
new_float normal
# Hide borders
hide_edge_borders none
# change borders
bindsym $mod+u border none
bindsym $mod+y border pixel 1
bindsym $mod+n border normal
# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod
# start a terminal
bindsym $mod+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal
# kill focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+q kill
# start dmenu (a program launcher)
#bindsym $mod+d exec dmenu-desktop_run
bindsym $mod+d exec j4-dmenu-desktop [--dmenu="dmenu -i"] [--term="i3-sensible-terminal"]
# There also is the (new) i3-dmenu-desktop which only displays applications
# shipping a .desktop file. It is a wrapper around dmenu, so you need that
# installed.
# bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id i3-dmenu-desktop
## sound section
exec --no-startup-id pulseaudio
bindsym $mod+Ctrl+m exec i3-sensible-terminal -e pavucontrol
exec --no-startup-id sleep 2 && volumeicon
# Applications Shortcuts
bindsym $mod+F2 exec google-chrome-stable
bindsym $mod+F3 exec thunar
bindsym $mod+F4 exec clementine
bindsym $mod+F5 exec calibre
# change focus
bindsym $mod+j focus left
bindsym $mod+k focus down
bindsym $mod+l focus up
bindsym $mod+semicolon focus right
# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right
# move focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+j move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+k move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+l move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+semicolon move right
# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right
# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h
# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v
# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen toggle
# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, toggle split)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout toggle split
# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+space floating toggle
# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+space focus mode_toggle
# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent
# focus the child container
#bindsym $mod+d focus child
# Define names for default workspaces for which we configure key bindings later on.
# We use variables to avoid repeating the names in multiple places.
set $ws1 "1"
set $ws2 "2"
set $ws3 "3"
set $ws4 "4"
set $ws5 "5"
set $ws6 "6"
set $ws7 "7"
set $ws8 "8"
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws10 "10"
# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace $ws10
# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+1 move container to workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+Shift+2 move container to workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+Shift+3 move container to workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+Shift+4 move container to workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+Shift+5 move container to workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+Shift+6 move container to workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+Shift+7 move container to workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+Shift+8 move container to workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+Shift+9 move container to workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+Shift+0 move container to workspace $ws10
# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+c reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+r restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+e exec "i3-nagbar -t warning -m 'You pressed the exit shortcut. Do you really want to exit i3? This will end your X session.' -B 'Yes, exit i3' 'i3-msg exit'"
# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
# These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode
# Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
# Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
# Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
# Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
bindsym j resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym k resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym l resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym semicolon resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt
# same bindings, but for the arrow keys
bindsym Left resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Down resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Up resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Right resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt
# back to normal: Enter or Escape or $mod+r
bindsym Return mode "default"
bindsym Escape mode "default"
bindsym $mod+r mode "default"
}
bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"
# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
status_command i3status
}
# Autostart
exec --no-startup-id /usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &
#exec --no-startup-id mx-updater-autostart
#exec --no-startup-id mx-updater-autostart-unhide-icon
exec --no-startup-id nm-applet
exec --no-startup-id /usr/bin/blueman-applet
Re: i3 start up issue
Could you try:
assuming that the asound.state file still exists?

EDIT: Did you update i3 to version 4.18 from the test repo? Maybe back up your i3 dotfiles, purge i3 and do a fresh install with default configs..
(Not exactly sure if that alone will solve your sound issue)
Code: Select all
## sound section
#exec --no-startup-id pulseaudio
bindsym $mod+Ctrl+m exec i3-sensible-terminal -e pavucontrol
#exec --no-startup-id sleep 2 && volumeicon
exec pulse-start &
exec sleep 5 && /usr/sbin/alsactl --file ~/.config/asound.state restore &

EDIT: Did you update i3 to version 4.18 from the test repo? Maybe back up your i3 dotfiles, purge i3 and do a fresh install with default configs..
(Not exactly sure if that alone will solve your sound issue)
-
- Posts: 58
- Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 8:17 pm
Re: i3 start up issue
Their is no need to run a command to start a sound sever with i3. alsa producers the sound not pulse.
You can also control your sound volume & mute from your keyboard. On my keyboard I use FN + the sound control keys
amixer script Make a file in your home called amixer add the below code make sure the script is executable.
#!/bin/bash
vol=$(amixer get 'Master',0 | egrep -o '[0-9]{1,3}%')
echo "${vol%[%]}"
-------------------------------------------------------
This for MX
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master 2dB+ unmute
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master 2dB- unmute
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master toggle
-------------------------------------------------------------
This for antiX
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 2+ unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 2- unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 toggle"
----------------------------------------------------------
Set default sound card... Must be done from sudo
Open alsa mixer with sudo press F6 or S select your card then type sudo alsactl store.
sudo alsamixer
sudo alsactl store
and
Setting the default device
Jump to: navigation, search
Find your desired card with:
cat /proc/asound/cards
and then create /etc/asound.conf with following: OR you can just for the single user .asoundrc and place this in your home directory. But only use one not both at the same time it is up to you what way you to go.
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
Replace "1" with number of your card determined above.
----------------------------------------
Also if you want to see the sound volume icon on your bar add this to your bar line. tray_output primary
You can also control your sound volume & mute from your keyboard. On my keyboard I use FN + the sound control keys
amixer script Make a file in your home called amixer add the below code make sure the script is executable.
#!/bin/bash
vol=$(amixer get 'Master',0 | egrep -o '[0-9]{1,3}%')
echo "${vol%[%]}"
-------------------------------------------------------
This for MX
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master 2dB+ unmute
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master 2dB- unmute
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id amixer -q set Master toggle
-------------------------------------------------------------
This for antiX
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 2+ unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 2- unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id "amixer -q sset Master,0 toggle"
----------------------------------------------------------
Set default sound card... Must be done from sudo
Open alsa mixer with sudo press F6 or S select your card then type sudo alsactl store.
sudo alsamixer
sudo alsactl store
and
Setting the default device
Jump to: navigation, search
Find your desired card with:
cat /proc/asound/cards
and then create /etc/asound.conf with following: OR you can just for the single user .asoundrc and place this in your home directory. But only use one not both at the same time it is up to you what way you to go.
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
Replace "1" with number of your card determined above.
----------------------------------------
Also if you want to see the sound volume icon on your bar add this to your bar line. tray_output primary
Code: Select all
# Conkybar
bar {
status_command ~/.config/i3/conkybar.sh
i3bar_command i3bar --transparency
height 28
workspace_buttons yes
tray_output primary
font pango:JetBrainsMono-Regular 10
position top
tray_output primary
strip_workspace_numbers no
binding_mode_indicator no
# Polybar
#bar {
# status_command ~/.config/polybar/launch.sh
# tray_output primary
# bumblebee-status
#bar {
# font pango:JetBrains Mono Regular 10
# position top
# tray_output none
# i3bar_command i3bar --transparency
-
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 8:34 am
Re: i3 start up issue
Thank you MXtones, the following has worked a treat for me:
Thank you for the full response Helen-Earth,i followed it all fine except for the volume up/down keyboard buttons not working, but then you lost me with the section after 'bar line. tray_output primary'
Code: Select all
bindsym $mod+Ctrl+m exec i3-sensible-terminal -e pavucontrol
exec pulse-start &
exec sleep 5 && /usr/sbin/alsactl --file ~/.config/asound.state restore &